The following report from the Aberdeen Press and Journal, dated 24 May 1899 shows how the Craigellachie hotel has lost its original charm — despite the custard reboot (feature photo dated 1921).
THE DEVELOPMENT OF CRAIGELLACHIE
ITS HOTEL, ITS SCENERY, AND ITS INDUSTRIES
A party of Aberdonians spent e delightful week end at Craigellachie Hotel where -the extended and improved accommodation is making the place become increasingly popular a resort for tourists, anglers, and other in search of recreation and pure invigorating air, along with the most romantic and varied scenery. Since Mr James Edgar, so long known most respected at the host of the Gordon Arms Hotel transferred his capital and his business energies to the picturesque banks of the Spey at Craigellachie he has not only enlarged the accommodation of the hotel by the addition of about twenty rooms, but he has brought the culinary department, to the highest perfection both in mechanical arrangements and in skilled management while the introduction of an installation of acetylene gas, and the construction of is spacious recreation room and several verandas, balconies and cosy corners, from which magnificent views of the Valley of the Spey are obtained, have greatly enhanced the pleasure and comfort of visitors. Indeed, in all departments of the hotel , Mr Edgar, who its ably assisted by his family, has brought to bear all that his exceptional experience and fine taste can suggest for the provision of the most convenient and comfortable quarters for his guests. The hotel is of course of quite modern construction throughout, but the two recent extensions contain the latest features and both externally and internally have greatly improved the handsome property.
BRIDGE FROM TIIE HOTEL
Standing on the high ground overlooking the Valley of the Spey, from which it is separated by a broad expanse of grassy haugh as large as the Duthie Park, and as level as a billiard table, and commanding a fine view of Craigellachie Bridge of poetic celebrity, which gracefully spans the silvery Spey, under the shadow of a precipitous, rocky and wooded bank, the hotel presents and imposing appearance. It may be mentioned that Craigellachie Bridge was designed by Telford, the celebrated engineer, from whose plans Union Bridge, Aberdeen was built.
THE HOTEL FROM THE BRIDGE
The style and architecture is Elizabethan, and the harmoniums grouping of the finely situated building, with its numerous pointed and timbered gables and its light tinted wall, has a charming effect against the leafy background that rite, abruptly from the side of the public road leading to Abelour. Mr Edgar is engaged laying out the grounds formed by the slope on which the hotel is built, and already the terraces and plantation of spruce and shrubs and the shady walks provide a very much appreciated adjunct to the establishment. On the haugh immediately below the hotel there is a large garden with tennis and bowling greens. With the very reasonable arrangements as to weekend tariff which Mr Edgar has provided for his patron, the comfort and attractions of the hotel, and its surroundings and the splendid energy and health-giving air of the valley of the Spey, the Craigeallchie Hotel is certain to become one of the most popular resorts in the north.